Sylvester Edwards has been elected to his second term as president of the Greater Terre Haute NAACP Branch. The two-year term will begin January 1, 2019.

The membership, in its biennial election, also re-elected the following officers and executive committee members at large: John E. Lang, First Vice President; Drucella Thomas, Secretary; A. Theressa Bynum, Treasurer; Oscar Session, Assistant Treasurer; and EC at large members Benjamin Kite, Jeanne Rewa, and Sandra Wickware.

Sylvester Edwards,  Re-elected as Branch President

Edwards said “I’m optimistic about filling many of our committees with members interested in helping us accomplish our mission. Education, Political Action (Voter Education), Health, Youth Services, and Armed Services and Veterans Affairs are just a few of the Standing Committees we want to build up.”

Edwards anticipates putting extraordinary effort into support of hate crime legislation. He said, “it’s great that state lawmakers are finally again addressing Indiana’s lack of a hate crime law that would give judges the ability to consider bias as an aggravating factor when considering prison sentences. In 2008 the Terre Haute Branch rallied for hate crime laws and successfully achieved passage of a Resolution by the Terre Haute City Council ‘urging the State of Indiana to adopt hate crimes legislation’.”

The Greater Terre Haute NAACP Branch meets on the third Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Vigo County Public Library.